Johansen Crosby Endowment

You are here

Black and white photo of Edwin Johansen CrosbyThe Johansen Crosby Endowment supports development of educational initiatives, such as the Johansen Crosby Lectureship and the Johansen Crosby Professorship. The Johansen Crosby endowment honors the parents of Professor Edwin Johansen Crosby. Professor Crosby received a bachelor of science degree in chemical engineering from Michigan State University in 1950 and continued his studies at the University of Wisconsin, completing the Ph.D. in 1955. His father, Edwin Rallard Crosby, owned an electric supply company in Flint, Michigan, and his mother, Thora Anne Johansen Crosby, was an ardent horticulturist and volunteer for Michigan State University Cooperative Extension Service in Flint.

Professor Crosby spent his entire career as an inspiring educator and researcher in the Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of Wisconsin-Madison until his untimely death on December 25, 1991. Professor Crosby's early interest in atomization and spray-drying phenomena resulted in the first fundamental study of controlled collisions between pairs of drops using high speed cinematography. His pioneering book, Experiments in Transport Phenomena, was published by John Wiley & Sons in 1961.

 Johansen Crosby Lecturers

2022, David Allen, University of Texas, Austin
2021, Suzanne Kresta, University of Saskatchewan
2019, Babatunde Ogunnaike, University of Delaware
2018, Stephanie Farrell, Rowan University
2017, Michael Prince, Bucknell University
2016 Daniel Klingenberg, University of Wisconson
2015 Mario Eden, Auburn University
2014 Phillip Wankat, Purdue University
2013 John Falconer, University of Colorado
2012 Robert C. Armstrong, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2012 Jefferson W. Tester, Cornell University
2010 F. Joseph Schork, University of Maryland
2009 Robert Davis, University of Virginia
2008 David A. Kofke, University at Buffalo, The State University of New York
2007 Regina Murphy, University of Wisconsin
2006 Matthew Neurock, University of Virginia
2005 Stuart L. Cooper, The Ohio State University
2004 Arvind Varma, Purdue University
2003 Edward L. Cussler, University of Minnesota
2002 David F. Ollis, North Carolina State University
2001 Richard M. Felder, North Carolina State University
1999 H. Scott Fogler, The Univeristy of Michigan
1999 George G. Chase, The University of Akron

Johansen Crosby Visiting Professors

2001 G.D. Yadav, University Division of Chemical Technology, University of Mumbai, India.
1999 George G. Chase, The University of Akron

Johansen Crosby Endowed Chair

Richard Lunt